If you find yourself in the position where you’ve been pulled over by the police for driving under the influence, you’ll probably have a million questions about what’s coming next. It’s a terrifying prospect to face.
The most pressing question people usually have is, “What penalties will I face if I’m found guilty?”
Michigan penalties for a DUI conviction
If you’ve been arrested for driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08% or greater, you could face a DUI conviction. For a first offense, the penalties include:
- A fine of up to $500
- A maximum of 93 days in jail
- Up to 360 hours of community service
- A license suspension of up to 180 days
- 6 points on your driver’s license
In Michigan, if a person’s BAC is 0.17% or higher there are also additional, more serious penalties. The fine increases to a maximum of $700 and the sentence to up to 180 days in jail.
The license suspension can be reduced in certain circumstances by having an ignition interlock device fitted to the car after 45 days of suspension compliance. This can allow for a restricted driver’s license to be issued. There’s also a mandatory completion of an alcohol treatment program.
If you were driving with a child in the car under the age of 16 at the time you were arrested, you can face an additional fine in the of $200 to $1,000 and either five days in jail or community service of 30 to 90 days.
If you’ve been arrested for a DUI, having legal assistance in place is essential to protecting your rights and putting forward a strong defense.