Let’s face it, no one ever wants to find out what happens if they get pulled over for drunk driving in Michigan. We have all heard horror stories of jail time, fines, license revocation, etc. and going through it can make a person feel hopeless and scared. If a person is facing a drunk driving charge, they should know that there are three levels of drunk driving in Michigan.
This is for blood alcohol levels of 0.08 or lower. It is a misdemeanor with fines up to $300 and a suspended license for 90 days. 4 points are added to a person’s driving record which drop off after 2 years.
Operating while intoxicated first offense
This is for blood alcohol levels between 0.08 and 0.16. This is a misdemeanor with fines up to $500, license suspension of 180 days and 6 points added to driving record.
Operating with high BAC, also commonly referred to as “super drunk”
This is for drivers who have a BAC of 0.17 or higher. This is a misdemeanor offense with fines up to $700, license suspension of one year and 6 points added to driving record.
Additional arrests for drunk driving will result in higher fines and penalties, including a felony. If a person is facing a drunk driving charge, they may want to speak with a legal professional who is skilled in criminal defense. An attorney understands what their client is going through and they can make a significant difference in the outcome of their client’s case. They will make sure due process was followed and that their client’s rights are protected.